Road Trip Volume 6 (In Which Something Happens)

by thoughtsonthedead

004_inaction_std
The headlights slashed across tree trunks as the Earthroamer took the pins and switchbacks; across the valley, there was a fire halfway up the slope. The cliff face shot the engine’s sound out over the river and it was quiet in the cab, and quiet in the camper, and quiet in the bathroom because Garcia had nodded off.

For a moment, John Mayer lost time, and saw what was in front of him. Above him and around him, as a moment. Were there no stars yet, or no stars left? When am I? he asked

Where are we going, he wanted to know.

CELL PHONE NOISE

“Mushi Mushi?”

“John, it’s Katy. I need you.”

“I’m coming. Send me your GPS location.”

“Okay, done.”

“Great. Now send me some nudes.”

“Bear down, John.”

“See you soon.”

“Hurry!”

“Is everything–”

DIAL TONE NOISE (EVEN THOUGH PHONES DON’T DO THAT ANYMORE)

