From Father To Son

by thoughtsonthedead

A long time ago, yadda yadda.

“LUUUUUUKE.”

KSHH!

Shwompf! Shwampf!

“STOP TRYING TO LIGHTSABER ME.”

“Well, stop sneaking up on me.”

“I CAN’T HELP IT: I AM A FORCE GHOST.”

“Just call out when you enter the room, something.”

“YOU’RE STILL NOT STRAIGHTENING YOUR–

“Don’t tell me how to use my lightsaber, please.”

“–ELBOW WHEN YOU SWING YOUR LIGHTSABER.”

“I got it, Father.”

“IT’S JUST THAT I’VE BEEN FIGHTING WITH A LIGHTSABER SINCE BEFORE YOU WERE BORN AND THOUGHT YOU MIGHT APPRECIATE MY EXPERIENCE.”

“Goddammit.”

“SORRY I WANTED TO HELP. MY KNOWLEDGE WILL DIE WITH ME.”

“You already died.”

“DIE WITH MY FORCE GHOST, WHATEVER.”

“I’m fine. Thank you for your advice”

“YOUR SISTER STILL WILL NOT TALK TO ME.”

“Leia’s gonna be a tough nut to crack.”

“THE ALDERAAN THING?”

“Is that how you’re referring to it?”

“WHAT?”

“There were nine billion people on that planet and you blew up it.”

“NO ONE EVER LOOKS AT THE BRIGHT SIDE OF THAT. STATISTICALLY, MILLIONS OF RAPISTS DIED THAT DAY.”

“You probably shouldn’t say these things out loud to Leia.”

“NO. SHE HAS NO SENSE OF HUMOR ABOUT IT.”

“Nope.”

“YOU SHOULD TALK TO HER FOR ME, LUKE. TELL HER OF MY CHANGE OF HEART. TELL YOUR SISTER THAT YOU SAW THE GOOD INSIDE ME AND THAT WE ARE A FAMILY.”

“I tried once to tell her that you had come back as a force ghost, and that we were talking you and I were speaking and building a relationship”

“HOW DID IT GO?”

“You know Leia’s strong in the force, but completely untrained?”

“YES. SHE HAS A VERY HIGH MIDICHLORIAN COUNT.”

“A what?”

“NOTHING. GO ON.”

“Anyway, in a cold rage, she reached out for my lightsaber from across the room. It flew to her hand and then she told me shut the fuck up and then she used the force to put the saber back on my belt. It was scary how calm she was the whole time.”

“PERHAPS I SHOULD TAKE IT SLOWLY WITH YOUR SISTER.”

“Probably for the best.”

