This Is All A Dream I Blogged: Chapter Two

by thoughtsonthedead

  • I know Bear didn’t look like Curtis Armstrong of Booger fame, but that’s who he is in my head.
  • When Alton Kelley and Stanley Mouse found the drawing that would become the famous skeleton and roses poster, they tore the page out of the book; I did not know that, and I would never endorse such behavior, but it is adorable.
  • Sue Swanson and Eileen Law and Rosie McGee and Mountain Girl (and other women) are interviewed and this is a good decision, not for some nebulous feel-good fairness reason, but it is both an excellent narrative choice and a better reflection of whatever reality might have been than the previous method, which was “asking the dudes in the band.”
  • The Diggers seem like interesting people, but whenever I hear them discussed, there is a better-than-even-money chance that Peter Coyote will be involved. There is no Peter Coyote in this book: I checked.
  • There’s a great story–I won’t tell it to you; buy the damn book–about a guy named Brian Rohan, the lawyer who negotiated the Dead’s first deal with Warner Brothers that teaches an important lesson: always be unreasonable with people in suits. Anything else is taken as a sign of weakness.
  • Wait: one of the people in the oral history is David Gans.
  • But he wrote the oral history.
  • We’re through the looking-glass here, Enthusiasts.
  • Bobby, while at the Monterey Pop Festival, becomes best friends with Jimi Hendrix.
  • Then Mickey joins the band and everybody gets busted.
