We’ll Make Great Pets

by thoughtsonthedead

Technology doesn’t have to be sufficiently advanced to be magic: even just a little advanced will do.

I wanted to watch the Giants game, but I don’t have cable, just internet. As of last year, the best one could do was illegal European feeds that required installing four back-up Adblockers to deal with the pop-ups, but now you can watch almost all the games directly from the network, or from the NFL themselves.

Using my phone as my remote control–because that is a thing now–I clicked on the ESPN app on the AppleTV home screen. This took me to a page with a web address and seven-digit code on it. I went to the page, entered the code, and was rewarded with the brightly-colored morality play that I craved.

The machines have begun to train us.

