Always A Bridesmaid

by thoughtsonthedead

daves picks16cover
As usual, the newest release in the Dave’s Picks series comes with extras beyond the music. There’s the colorful artwork of a house with a vagina for a door, and some cool pictures via Master of the Visual Galleries, Nicolas von Meriweather. Also, an essay from long-time Dead scribe Dennis McNally about how the show (McNally’s first) almost didn’t happen due to Garcia and Hunter getting busted in Connecticut Jersey the day before.

Once again, TotD was not asked to write the liner notes even though I sent in a sample I worked very hard on.

Tell the nice people what you wrote.

It’s good; they should take my word for it.

Tell them what you wrote.

Fine: If 3/28/73 were a pasta, it would be rigatoni that knew how to give a killer blowjob. This show is like some sort of Spaghetti Suckoff and I’m going back for seconds. Pile my plate high, Grandma, and then shove it in my crotch!

Do you understand why that’s not acceptable?

Is it racist against Italians?

No.

Is it racist against cocksuckers? Or pasta?

You’re not getting the point. Even if that was the right way to cheerlead for a show, you shouldn’t be doing that: the show’s been purchased. You need to add a little something. A story pertaining to the show.

Can I mention Hitler?

Must you?

Y’know, I could actually make the same point using Winona Ryder as an example. Forget Hitler.

We must never forget Hitler.

No. We must never forget Hitler.

That was weird.

Yeah.

What if I use the space allotted to me in the liner notes to attack enemies and give diet tips?

No.

Poetry about being in Mickey.

Hell, no.

Free verse about being in Mickey.

Maybe.

How many times should I thank American Express?

At least twice, I would imagine.

Yeah.

